Some Links, And Chickens that want to look like Turkeys.

Nice little piece on how self-regulation lets you side-step government regulation.

The American Section of the Ethnic Foods isle. So worth watching. So revealing.

In Farm News:

That’s where I live. I like it, the people are nice. Sure, its a far cry from the ultra-sanitized hospital environment that I have been living in, but you can’t have a farm without dirt. Right? Also, there are two temperatures: hot, and hotter.

Also, there are these curious looking ‘chickens’ wandering around outside my dorm. Here is one that slowed down enough for me to take his picture (Sorry these aren’t better photos, I couldn’t convince them to model for me.):

Supposedly these chickens are better suited for hotter climates (like south Texas) due to their naked necks. From what I understand they are a chicken + turkey hybrid, but I didn’t go around fact checking that. If you like genetics, a quick internet search pulls up all the info on such fowl.


3 responses

  1. I believe the name I heard them called was “turken” but I really like the way that churkey sounds.

    July 2, 2010 at 1:59 pm

  2. Elizabeth

    Look at those Churkeys! Tickens? Haha. I look forward to hearing more of your adventures!

    July 2, 2010 at 10:22 am

  3. hannah

    this makes me happy.

    July 1, 2010 at 7:40 pm

Leave a Reply

